Hello all, I hope everyone had a safe and happy Christmas.  Instead of doing the same ol’ Christmas haul story (but, if you are curious, check out For Card’s Sake to see what I got), I’m gonna show everyone my small, but growing, autographed baseball collection.  I have many, many autographed cards and a few autographed pictures, but nothing looks better than a signed baseball from some of the all-time greats.  Let’s take a look.

 

This is the display I have for the balls.  They sit in an indented shelf in my baseball room, and they look pretty nice on the top shelf with a Cooperstown pennant was the backdrop.  The big names are protected by a nice golden glove stand and UV-protective cases.  Most of these were obtained in person by myself or a relative.

 

Graig Nettles (77 + 78 WSC Inscription)I got this for a pretty good deal at a memorabilia shop and I just love the inscription and how it fits nicely on the 100-Year Anniversary ball.

 

Goose Gossage (HOF 2008 Inscription)Goose has a very nice signature.  I picked this up on eBay for pretty cheap, and I believe it came with a COA.  It looks like most of his signatures, so I’m pretty sure this is legit.

 

Bob BooneThis was my first ever signing I attended (I think I might have been a freshman or in the 8th grade, I forget) and Mr. Boone was a really nice guy.  Obviously it wasn’t signed in the best pen or on the best ball, because it’s faded pretty badly.  Oh well, it’s still a very special piece of my collection.

 

Gary CarterMy grandparents, who travel down to Florida in the winter and go to a good chunk of the St. Lucia Mets games, saw Gary attending one of the games and asked for his autographed.  He happily obliged and now it’s safe and sound with the rest of the Hall of Famers.  I do like his signature a lot too, very legible and very classy.

 

Jim Palmer (HOF 90 Inscription)I believe I got this at a signing as well, and I’m a big fan of the inscription.  Nothing beats inscriptions, let me tell ya.

 

Yogi BerraI received this for Christmas and it makes for an excellent addition to the collection.  And better yet, it’s signed on the 100-Year Anniversary ball.

 

Jamie Moyer and Shawn ChaconI got both of these guys at signings.  Moyer’s was about a month after the Phillies won the World Series, so you can imagine the crowd for that.  Chacon was about four or five years ago, whenever he was with the Yankees (I’m pretty sure it was 2005, so maybe in late ’05 or early ’06), and there was practically no line.  I chatted with him for a few minutes and he seemed like a nice guy.  Until he tried to choke his general manager, that is.

 

Jesus Montero, Zach McAllister, random minor leaguers, and a 2009 Trenton Thunder Eastern League champs signed ballI got the Montero and McAllister on a separate ball and a ball signed by all the 2009 Trenton All-Stars at the 2009 EL All-Star Game held at Waterfront Park in Trenton, NJ.  The 2009 EL Champs ball I won in a raffle and in the background there are random minor leaguers… I believe some are prospects and some are just nobodies, but I will have to go and check again.

 

Alex RodriguezThe piece de la resistance.  Being a huge A-Rod fan, this ball is sick.  Very nice addition to the A-Rod PC and the autographed ball collection itself.

 

And now for my last “odd”ballYup, that’s signed by actor Tom Guiry, or as many might know him, Scotty Smalls from the Sandlot.  This movie was one of my favorites when I was a kid and it still is, and actually meeting Mr. Guiry was awesome. The actor, who’s appeared in films such as Mystic River and Black Hawk Down, married into one of my good friend’s family, and so he was over at his house one night during a party.  My friend found me a ball from his garage and I got Mr. Guiry to sign it.  The inscription?  “To Nick, you’re killing me smalls!  Tom Guiry”.  Friggin’ awesome, and a one of a kind.

 

 

So, probably not as big as some people’s ball collection (boy, that sounds wrong), but I’m proud of it and I hope to add a ton more in the near future.  Thanks for checking it out!

